Introducing the YRR of LRR Livestream Schedule
January 2nd, 2014

Posted by Kathleen


It's a LOGO!

Happy New Year! This year we resolve to play more video games! Specifically to stream those video games on Twitch. Even more specifically, to be funny and amusing for your benefit while we stream those games on  Twitch. Also to fulfil our LoadingReadyLive Kickstarter promises, which was to do all those things, so conveniently enough…

We’re proud to unveil the YRR of LRR Livestream lineup! The LRR crew and our friends are going to make good on that Kickstarter promise with a bunch of shows that will cover every genre of gaming from classic console to next-gen first person shooters.

We’re kicking off the whole thing with a stream-a-thon on this Sunday, January 5th at 11 AM Pacific/2 PM Eastern/7 PM UK with one-hour episodes of all our shows, hangouts and a Twitch subscriber giveaway for a $75 giftcard to the online game store of your choice. You can watch the whole thing on our Twitch channel – twitch.tv/loadingreadyrun!

If you happen to miss it, the launch and the livestreams will be archived on Twitch for your later consumption and hopeful enjoyment.

So what shows will you see on LoadingReadyLive?

 

Monday 3 PM Pacific/6 PM Eastern/11 PM UK
Graham & Paul bring their Unskippable sensibilities to GPLP, mercilessly riffing on all games, good and bad (but mostly bad). If you’ve ever wanted to see two men constantly disappointed on a deep, personal level by bad combat mechanics and interminable cutscenes, this is the place.

 


Wednesday 6 PM Pacific/9 PM Eastern/2 AM UK
As far as Cam is concerned, there is one correct difficulty for strategy games: punishing. Whether it’s “hardcore”, or “extreme”, or “iron man”, you’re not doing it right if your entire squad isn’t one bad roll away from paving the save file and starting over.

 

Wednesday 3 PM Pacific/6 PM Eastern/11 PM UK
JRPGs are usually awful. But sometimes they are… less bad, and once in a while, there is one that is actually excellent. Wherever a JRPG falls on Kathleen’s proprietary quality scale (from “this is an abomination unto gaming” or “I will prod you with a stick until you put it in your eyes”), she loves these turn-based delights with a fervor that verges on addiction. Join her as she plays and discusses JRPGs new and old, everything from Shin Megami Tensei to Final Fantasy.

 


Tuesday 2 PM Pacific/5 PM Eastern/10 PM UK
Watching Alex play games is its own pastime. Look forward to Minecraft shenanigans and nutty adventure maps, “Let’s NOPE!” survival horror playthroughs, FPS games with mods you’ve never heard of, and maybe even game genres Alex hasn’t played before… You won’t be disappointed.

 


Thursday 7 PM Pacific/10 PM Eastern/3 AM UK
There are many games that Graham wants to play and mock, but he can’t really validate the personal time to do so because they’re awful. Luckily for you, the knowledge that you’ll be sharing the “experience” with him is exactly the excuse he needs to work through his hit list.

 


Monday 6PM Pacific/9 PM Eastern/2 AM UK
Beej has a pile of Nintendo-console crap he’s been meaning to get to — some of it dating back to the SNES — and you’re going to watch him grind through it, even if it kills both of you. Also, you’re going to like it because Beej is a funny guy.

Thursday 8:30 AM Pacific/11:30 AM Eastern/4:30 PM UK
James is a man of many skills, and one that he plans to master is Minecraft. He’s going to play other games too but… he’s really into Minecraft, you guys. He’s even going to get the other LRR crew to play with him on a special server, and you can join in too!

 

Thursday 4 PM Pacific/7 PM Eastern/Midnight UK
Every week, James and Graham draft Magic: the Gathering Online, and occasionally succeed! Although, when the goal is entertainment over good play, it really seems more like they always succeed. Hop in the chat and tell us what to pick.

Brought to you by our delightful friends at www.CardKingdom.com

 

Monday 2 PM Pacific/5 PM Eastern/10 PM UK
CheckPoint lives on, filmed before a live internet audience! Kathleen, Graham, and Paul keep you up to date on the latest and stupidest gaming industry news, while sharing their views on the most egregious examples of idiocy. The term “lambast” is applicable.

 

Every other Tuesday, starting Jan 14 – 7 PM Pacific/10 PM Eastern/4 AM UK
When Jer was a kid, he wasn’t allowed to have an NES. Instead, he had to go over to friends’ houses to get his game fix. Gaming was social, full of controller-passing, catridge-cleaning and password scrawling. Join Jer—and a rotating co-host—every week as they dig up, play and reminisce about their favourite games of all time.

 

 


32 Comments »

  1. Well, so much for ever being productive again. Looking forward to it all!

    Comment by Jamfalcon — January 2, 2014 @ 4:47 pm

  2. For my Australian brethren, Australian Eastern Daylight Saving Times.

    GPLP: Tuesdays, 10am
    A Swiftly Tilting Cameron: 1pm Thursdays
    Kathleen Saves the World: 10am Thursdays
    Alex’s Show I Can’t Read: 9am Wednesday
    House of Stark: 2pm Friday
    Beej’s Backlog: 1pm Friday (Back to back!)
    Video James: 3am Friday
    LRRMtG: 11am Friday
    Checkpoint+: 7am Friday (WOO! I may be able to watch this before work! Thank you!)
    Book of Passwords: Every other Wednesday, 2pm.

    They’re actually mostly pretty good times for Aussies, but if you work you’ll find it tough. :/

    Comment by JackSlack — January 2, 2014 @ 5:04 pm

  3. Damnit guys, I just started a Master’s this month…

    So is Graham going to continue with RE6 now in the House of Stark? And am I reading this right? Four shows on Thursdays? Why must you do this to my Thursday?

    Comment by Grescheks — January 2, 2014 @ 5:04 pm

  4. (Erm, 7am TUESDAY, even, for Checkpoint+.)

    Comment by JackSlack — January 2, 2014 @ 5:07 pm

  5. Welp, there goes my productivity for the next year! Seriously, the only thing I can think of thats wrong with this setup is “I wish there were more hours in the day so you could stream more”

    If I win the lottery I’m going to personally fund turning you guys into an actual cable channel. It would be on at my house constantly!

    Comment by Magicpokey — January 2, 2014 @ 5:09 pm

  6. I didn’t know you had this many stops to pull.

    Comment by Derpmind — January 2, 2014 @ 5:35 pm

  7. Oh no! I will never be able to watch GPLP live… I’m looking forward to all of this. Going to be a great year.

    Comment by Lurkon — January 2, 2014 @ 5:56 pm

  8. Yesssssssssss

    I can’t believe this was just a stretch goal for the kickstarter. This much pound for pound raw LRR entertainment is worth the money in and of itself. I will be tuning in!

    Comment by Twoflower — January 2, 2014 @ 5:57 pm

  9. I don’t know much about Twitch, but will we be able to “catch up”?
    I’m not fussed about missing watching you live. But I don’t want to miss the actual watching.

    Comment by Merrymaker+mortalis — January 2, 2014 @ 6:31 pm

  10. Out-fecking-standing guys! That’s a wonderful line up!

    Comment by SpappyCroonerism — January 2, 2014 @ 6:43 pm

  11. Well, at least I’ll be able to watch James & Checkpoint live.

    Really looking forward to all of these shows!

    Comment by Crab — January 2, 2014 @ 6:43 pm

  12. I’m super-curious about what Kathleen and Cam’ll be playing. Mother? XCOM? Either way, I’m looking forward to it! …and hoping that they’ll be saving the episodes for later purview,

    Comment by Henry — January 2, 2014 @ 7:01 pm

  13. …it says right at the top that they’ll be archived. WHOOPS, ME!

    More importantly, is this the order they’ll be done on Sunday? Would love to tune in live, but want to know what the schedule is in case I need to do other things, too.

    Comment by Henry — January 2, 2014 @ 7:04 pm

  14. Thanks for the breakdown JackSlack – was mentally trying to work those out myself. Can’t wait guys, this is going to be one hell of a Yrr!

    Comment by CapnHat — January 2, 2014 @ 7:16 pm

  15. The only thing “missing”(if i can indeed say this when they are giving us this much) is Maya.
    We need more Maya up in thar!

    Comment by JeKaWo — January 2, 2014 @ 7:20 pm

  16. I know that being on twitch is easy and everything but can we please, please, please have a different archive site. LRRGames youtube channel or something. The playback on twitch is abysmal, there is no video quality options and because I doubt you are streaming in anything but top quality that is what they will be stuck at. It makes people who have less than steller internet quality impossible to watch the streams. T-T

    Comment by FlamingPizza — January 2, 2014 @ 7:26 pm

  17. Heh, Alex’s show is called DDQDerp.

    IT’S FUNNY BECAUSE DOOM HUMOR

    Comment by Miffy92 — January 2, 2014 @ 7:58 pm

  18. I agree that it’d be nice to have them archived on YouTube somewhere – I have limited bandwidth so it’d be nice to be able to watch the archives at a lower quality.

    That said, wow, this is a lot of content! I really look forward to watching it.

    Comment by Sarah — January 2, 2014 @ 8:26 pm

  19. … James’s show is, of course, on at 3:30am Australian Eastern DST. Not 3am. Half an hour in. Y’know.

    Comment by JackSlack — January 2, 2014 @ 8:32 pm

  20. Now this is the Xmas gift I’ve been waiting for! :D

    Comment by Damniampretty — January 2, 2014 @ 11:43 pm

  21. I’m sad I won’t be able to watch Cam and Beej live, but damn you guys, this is so much good content. Where am I going to find the time to watch all this? #Firstworldproblems

    Comment by RedNightmare — January 3, 2014 @ 3:01 am

  22. Well, good thing I’m a night person here in the UK I guess – I don’t even want to know how long you guts spent working out the best arrangement to work for most of your fans, but still try and reach as wide a timezone net as you could.

    Comment by Kieran E — January 3, 2014 @ 4:56 am

  23. Well time to throw out the resolution to be more productive this year. I will be far to busy gorging on the YRR of LRR content to do anything but laugh and sleep.

    Comment by AzureDragoon — January 3, 2014 @ 9:52 am

  24. Here is the schedule for Europe (UK +1) in a handy timetable format:
    http://i.imgur.com/Y0H5EZ5.png

    I’m quite the night owl but some of these times are a bit extreme even so. I guess I’ll be watching a lot of recordings :)

    Comment by GSC — January 3, 2014 @ 4:29 pm

  25. What about the Lava Bears?

    Comment by SupaQuazi — January 3, 2014 @ 11:57 pm

  26. Guys, I have the biggest grin on my face right now. Beej gets a show! FINALLY! Just list him as an official crew member already!

    Comment by Pari — January 4, 2014 @ 12:50 am

  27. Lava Bears is a separate thing and will be streamed outside of this schedule. :D

    Comment by Kathleen — January 4, 2014 @ 2:13 am

  28. DEAR GOD THIS IS GOING TO BE AMAZING!

    And I second whoever suggested they be archived on YouTube. I probably won’t be able to stream very many of these shows, so I’d love to gorge upon them as a part of my YouTube feed.

    Comment by Lanxal — January 4, 2014 @ 6:14 am

  29. Um. Has anyone noticed the GPLP times don’t match up for the west and east coast?

    Comment by James Matthews — January 5, 2014 @ 12:44 am

  30. GPLP is scheduled to be at 3 PM pacific (according to the new calendar as well, see twitter feed) and the UK timeshift is accurate (+8), so the eastern time should be 6 PM (+3).

    Comment by GSC — January 5, 2014 @ 10:15 am

  31. Alas! Now that these are on Twitch I cannot have them on while working (as the Net filters band all ‘game’ websites, including Twitch).

    Hopefully (some of) these end up on Youtube or hosted on the site!

    Comment by Bergie — January 6, 2014 @ 7:39 pm

  32. […] This year is looking to be even better on that front, with my beloved Loading Ready Run starting near-daily streams every week, more streaming content coming from the ever-lovable folks at Giant Bomb and Joystiq, and […]

    Pingback by Five Things I Learned From Games in 2013 | Common Memory — January 7, 2014 @ 2:20 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment