Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

A place to talk about standard, casual, limited and everything in between.
User avatar
phlip
Posts: 1779
Joined: 24 Apr 2010, 17:48
First Video: Eternal Sonata (Unskippable)
Location: Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby phlip » 12 Apr 2017, 21:56

When you cast a fused Beck // Call, the card on the stack has two names, "Beck" and "Call". It doesn't have the name "Beck // Call".

Same way that it three colours: Green, White and Blue. It is does not have the colour "Green // White // Blue". A Prism Ring naming "green" would trigger off Beck or a fused Beck // Call, but would not trigger off Call. And you couldn't cast Prism Ring and name "Green // White // Blue".
While no one overhear you quickly tell me not cow cow.
but how about watch phone?

[he/him/his]
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7301
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 15 Apr 2017, 20:11

I've seen conflicting info on whether Naga Vitalist could make Snow mana or not, if you had a snow land. Judge?
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.
Image
Image
User avatar
phlip
Posts: 1779
Joined: 24 Apr 2010, 17:48
First Video: Eternal Sonata (Unskippable)
Location: Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby phlip » 15 Apr 2017, 21:34

The different "types" of mana are WUBRGC. Snow isn't a "type" of mana, rather snow mana costs can only be paid by mana "produced by a snow permanent", which Naga Vitalist is not.
While no one overhear you quickly tell me not cow cow.
but how about watch phone?

[he/him/his]
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7301
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 22 Apr 2017, 16:26

Cool. I didn't think it did, but "type" threw me off. So, the only way for it to make Snow mana is if it's hit by Thermal Flux then, I guess.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.
Image
Image
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7301
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 01 May 2017, 18:57

Alright, if you use a Soul Separator on a Clone, Altered Ego, etc....

You get a 0/0 Zombie token that immediately dies, and a 1/1 flying copy of whatever creature you want on the battlefield.

Let me know if I have that right, or if the copy overrides anything of the Separator.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.
Image
Image
SixFootTurkey
Posts: 351
Joined: 18 Nov 2012, 03:54
First Video: PAX Prime '12 panel (recorded)

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SixFootTurkey » 02 May 2017, 07:57

I need to double check, but I believe the replacement effect will overwrite everything set by the separator...

Basically you have a 1/1 flying clone with 'as it enters...' - and then you have it enter as a copy of something else. The 'except it's...' does not mean those values become immutable, merely that it doesn't keep the original from the thing it (that particular copy effect) is copying.
User avatar
phlip
Posts: 1779
Joined: 24 Apr 2010, 17:48
First Video: Eternal Sonata (Unskippable)
Location: Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby phlip » 02 May 2017, 18:19

I'm not 100% sure, but I agree with SixFootTurkey... the copy effect on the Clone will override the Soul Separator's shenanigans, and it won't be a 1/1, flying, or a spirit (unless the thing you're copying is, of course).

I went looking for confirmation and found this discussion which agrees...

Of course, you can just choose not to copy anything with Clone's ability, it is a "may" after all. Then you can avoid all these rules questions and just effectively have a vanilla 1/1 flier. Whether that's worth your 8 mana and a card is up to you.
While no one overhear you quickly tell me not cow cow.
but how about watch phone?

[he/him/his]
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7301
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 03 May 2017, 12:04

So, unless I'm REALLY looking for flying or Spirit tribal, it works BETTER than I expected. Woo!
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.
Image
Image
User avatar
cuddlyblade
Posts: 430
Joined: 06 Jan 2013, 19:32
First Video: reduce your footprint
Location: Ireland

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby cuddlyblade » 20 Jun 2017, 16:18

If I cast Approach of the Second Sun from my hand then remand it and cast it again do I win the game? The card says cast and not successfully cast so I was wondering.
Trust me, I'm a scientist.
SixFootTurkey
Posts: 351
Joined: 18 Nov 2012, 03:54
First Video: PAX Prime '12 panel (recorded)

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SixFootTurkey » 20 Jun 2017, 16:40

Sure do.

Terminology clarification: there is no difference between 'cast' and 'successfully cast' - if you cast it, it's cast, end of story.

The term you're looking for is _resolve_ -- which is when the spell's effects happen. (The first AotSS was cast - but never resolved. The second AotSS was both cast and resolved.)

Compare cast/resolve to a ball being thrown/caught -- poofing the ball out of the air won't undo the fact that it was thrown.
Aaron9797
Posts: 66
Joined: 23 Jul 2014, 18:33
First Video: ransom

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Aaron9797 » 05 Jul 2017, 03:33

what if i have an eternal of harsh truths and i attack and my opponent cast farm on it do i get to draw a card?
User avatar
phlip
Posts: 1779
Joined: 24 Apr 2010, 17:48
First Video: Eternal Sonata (Unskippable)
Location: Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby phlip » 05 Jul 2017, 04:48

That depends on when they cast Farm.

Eternal of Harsh Truths triggers when it "attacks and isn't blocked" - specifically, that means it triggers during the Declare Blockers step if your opponent declares blocks and chooses not to block the Eternal. So if they cast Farm after blockers are declared, then you'll draw your card. But they also have the option of casting Farm before blockers are declared (during the Declare Attackers step), in which case you won't draw your card, as it's not on the battlefield any more at the point when it would trigger.
While no one overhear you quickly tell me not cow cow.
but how about watch phone?

[he/him/his]
Aaron9797
Posts: 66
Joined: 23 Jul 2014, 18:33
First Video: ransom

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Aaron9797 » 21 Sep 2017, 10:05

if i have acrane adaptation and i name merfolk will the creatures trigger deeproot waters?
SixFootTurkey
Posts: 351
Joined: 18 Nov 2012, 03:54
First Video: PAX Prime '12 panel (recorded)

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SixFootTurkey » 21 Sep 2017, 13:31

If you cast a creature spell, it will trigger Deeproot Waters regardless of what printed creature types it has. (If you are not casting the creature - or if it was a noncreature spell or an ability making a copy of something - it will of course not trigger.)
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7301
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 24 Sep 2017, 13:40

As far as I can tell, there are 9 total noncreature spells in MtG that will trigger Deeproot Waters, all from Lorwyn block:

Aquitect's Will
Blades of Velis Vel
Crib Swap
Ego Erasure
Merrow Commerce
Nameless Inversion
Shields of Velis Vel
Summon the School
Wings of Velis Vel

So unless you've got Lorwyn cards legal in whatever format you're playing, you only have to worry about creatures.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.
Image
Image
User avatar
mbooma
Posts: 21
Joined: 22 Sep 2013, 09:06
First Video: Friday Nights - Untap
Location: AUSTRALIA

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby mbooma » 03 Oct 2017, 18:19

Hi Judge,

I am wondering how the interaction between a rest in peace (or similar effect) works with a processor (think wasteland strangler).

Can I process a card exiled with rest in peace on the field?
mbooma on lrrcraft.com :D

Image
SixFootTurkey
Posts: 351
Joined: 18 Nov 2012, 03:54
First Video: PAX Prime '12 panel (recorded)

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SixFootTurkey » 04 Oct 2017, 17:09

Yes - it never changes zones, but is a 'new object' for things that care. (E.g., it breaks O-Ring tracking, etc.)

Note, if the card requires 'processing' multiple cards, there must be that many cards in exile; you can't choose the same card multiple times.
Atifexe
Posts: 585
Joined: 04 Mar 2014, 21:57
First Video: http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/v
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Atifexe » 10 Nov 2017, 08:57

Judge!

I have a card in play that can interact with creatures in the graveyard (let's say a land). I play a spell that requires me to sacrifice a creature as an additional cost. Can I respond to that spell after paying costs but before the spell resolves by activating my land, targeting the sacrificed creature?
SixFootTurkey
Posts: 351
Joined: 18 Nov 2012, 03:54
First Video: PAX Prime '12 panel (recorded)

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SixFootTurkey » 10 Nov 2017, 21:08

It would be easier to respond with specific cards, but I think I get what the core problem is.

After a player casts a spell/activates an ability, they get priority. Since in *most* games players don't actually do anything here, the tournament shortcut is that they are passing priority.

What this means: If you cast a spell, you are passing priority by default. If your opponent also passes, you have both passed in succession, so the spell resolves.

If you wish to act instead of passing priority, you must bypass this default by being explicit - this is known as 'holding priority.' There is no singular way of doing so, but basically anything that doesn't involve waiting for your opponent's reaction will work. Examples: "Cast [spell A], then [spell B] with A on the stack." "Cast [spell] holding priority."
Atifexe
Posts: 585
Joined: 04 Mar 2014, 21:57
First Video: http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/v
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Atifexe » 11 Nov 2017, 12:08

Thank you for your response! For my part, I should have been more clear - I has intended to ask whether or not the creature sacrificed as a cost of card A would be a legal target for card B''s ability before card A resolved.

If specific cards help, I cast Altar's Reap, sacrificing Scathe Zombies. Before Altar''s Reap resolves, I want to use Unholy Grotto to put it on top of my library.
SixFootTurkey
Posts: 351
Joined: 18 Nov 2012, 03:54
First Video: PAX Prime '12 panel (recorded)

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SixFootTurkey » 11 Nov 2017, 18:04

Yes, you can do that; you must specify you are holding priority, otherwise you'll have to hope they have a response.

Return to “Magic: The Gathering”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest