Gaming Desktop Advice

Talk about what you are playing now or join in with one of our forum games.
Atifexe
First Video: http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/v

Gaming Desktop Advice

Postby Atifexe » 19 Sep 2015, 20:10

Hello everyone! I'm in the market for a new desktop, with the hopes of doing all sorts of fun gaming that I've previously only really gotten into on consoles. This would be my first PC purchase over $1000, so I want to make it a good investment - especially with Fallout 4 on the horizon.

A couple of points to note at the start of this thread - I have no experience building my own PC, and I do not feel inclined to start gathering such experience now. I'd really rather be able to make a purchase and have the system arrive in a ready-to-function state.

To that end, I've been looking on Newegg's .ca website, as well as various comparison blogs. My own technical knowledge is limited, so I was hoping I could get a little advice in which is going to be the best bang for my buck. At this point, I'm trying to keep it around the $2000 CDN mark, though if there's something that's well worth the extra $500, I'm willing to be flexible.

The first system I'd like some feedback on is this one here. At just under $2500, it's right at the top of my budget, but so far it's the one that's ticking all the boxes my limited understanding has been able to draw up.

The primary competitor in my mind is this one, which my girlfriend found. The challenge here is that it's actually probably well above my budget, as I'm fairly certain the site uses USD and at current exchange rates, that'll add approximately 50% to the quoted price before factoring import/customs fees and taxes.