AdmiralMemo wrote:What now? <- Ability removes itself.
Technically, it actually doesn't, but it looks like it should... it's a little weird.
But basically it's the Opalesence
judge-brainteaser in a single card (if you play two Opalesences and a Humility, then the Opalesences make each other creatures, so Humility should remove their abilities, but then they shouldn't be creatures any more???). The rules have a resolution in there for it (once an ability has started to apply to things, removing that ability doesn't have any effect), but it does tend to stump people who aren't that familiar with the rules.
AdmiralMemo wrote:Floor Fans <- No clue.
The rules have this system in place to control what order different continuous effects apply, colloquially called the layer system. It's set up so that if you ever have something in one layer that depends on another layer, it all works how you expect (say, if you have a bear and Favorable Winds
, and you Jump
the bear, it goes from being a 2/2 on the ground to a 3/3 in the air, as the Winds now apply... which works because Abilities are in an earlier layer to Power/Toughness). On the other hand, if you're dependent on something in a later
layer, the whole thing falls down... so they just never print cards that are dependent in the wrong order.
That's the way that Floor Fans works... it checks the power of the creature to determine whether to give it flying before
any P/T-changing effects are applied. So if you have a bear, it'll have flying, and even if you Giant Growth it, it won't lose flying. While your 3/3 won't gain flying even if you put a -1/-1 counter on it. Clones will
still care if the power of the thing they're copying is 2 or less, because copy is an earlier layer, but eg Tarmogoyf
will always have flying no matter how big it gets, as even characteristic-defining P/T abilities get done in the other order.
AdmiralMemo wrote:Firing Squad <- Creature with Storm?
There's no way to copy a permanent spell with cards that already exist, and there's no rules to handle it. If they ever wanted to, they could add a rule that says, say, that a copy of a permanent spell creates a token on resolution, or something, but that doesn't exist right now. So say you cast Firing Squad as the fifth spell of the turn. You get your real creature spell, and 4 copies. They all resolve, and you get to deal 5 damage to things... but then all the copies are now copies of a spell outside the stack, and disappear (in the same way a token disappears when it leaves the battlefield - you still get your dies trigger or whatever and then it's gone) and you're left with a single 1/1.
AdmiralMemo wrote:Again! Again, again! <- Instants can't have Epic?
They can. There's nothing rules
-wrong with this one, I just think it would result in a lot
of judge calls. Honestly, the previous version was probably a lot better as a troll-set card, as it was missing the words "you control"... Kappa
AdmiralMemo wrote:One at a time, please <- Say goodbye to your mana base. (Not sure how it's a rules problem, but just seems bad.)
Again, more of a general troll card than a rules troll card... especially given Leyline of Singularity
is a card that exists... people will miss that it doesn't say "non-land" at first.
AdmiralMemo wrote:Counter-ring <- Needs Flash to actually work.
Oops, typo on my part... the one in my notes does have Flash.
Honestly, I think this one is just a cool card, but it does have a number of kinda weird interactions.
AdmiralMemo wrote:Maro's Nightmare <- No clue.
Mark Rosewater really loves his colour pie, and hates cards that break it. Green spells that can directly kill creatures are one of his pet peeves (search for his opinion on Hornet Sting
sometime). The "or spells" part is in there just as the icing on the cake.