Drecon wrote:I´ve been wrong about stuff like this before so you should probably get a certified judge on this. If there aren´t any on this forum you could try the wizards.com forums, there are a few really good judges on there.
Last I heard, SilPho, who started this thread, is a for-reals judge. I'm not a real judge, I just play one on TV.
and Persist: Putting a -1/-1 counter on the creature as a part of Persist isn't a "cost"... the ability doesn't have a cost, as it's a triggered ability... only activated abilities and spells have costs. When the creature dies, Persist triggers, and when it resolves, it will try to put the creature onto the battlefield with a -1/-1 counter... Melira will only prevent the counter from being added, but the rest will still happen... so the creature will come back at full strength, and can die and return indefinitely until Melira is removed (or the creature is exiled or suchlike, leaving the battlefield in a way that Persist doesn't return it).
For completeness, if there is
a creature with an activated ability where putting a -1/-1 counter on the creature is part of the cost (I'm sure it exists somewhere...), and you have Melira out, then you wouldn't be able to activate it at all... since Melira straight-up says that -1/-1 counters can't be placed on creatures you control, not that they can't be placed "as an effect of a spell or ability" or suchlike. But this doesn't apply for Persist.