Not a judge but I'd say No and No.ElFuzzy wrote:Does arresting a facedown creature negate the ability to morph it? The morph ability isn't part of the 2/2 so I'm not sure how to go about it.
ALSO if Ashcloud phoenix is killed while morphed does it still return to the battlefield?
A face-down creature doesn't have any abilities. Thus, I don't think Arrest can't "deactivate" an ability the creature doesn't have.
If Ashcloud Phoenix is face-down, it isn't "Ashcloud Phoenix" at that time. It's a creature with no name. So, if it dies, "Ashcloud Phoenix" didn't die. The unnamed creature died. Since "Ashcloud Phoenix" didn't die, it doesn't return.