Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

A place to talk about standard, casual, limited and everything in between.
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7342
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 21 Sep 2014, 12:55

ElFuzzy wrote:Does arresting a facedown creature negate the ability to morph it? The morph ability isn't part of the 2/2 so I'm not sure how to go about it.

ALSO if Ashcloud phoenix is killed while morphed does it still return to the battlefield?
Not a judge but I'd say No and No.

A face-down creature doesn't have any abilities. Thus, I don't think Arrest can't "deactivate" an ability the creature doesn't have.

If Ashcloud Phoenix is face-down, it isn't "Ashcloud Phoenix" at that time. It's a creature with no name. So, if it dies, "Ashcloud Phoenix" didn't die. The unnamed creature died. Since "Ashcloud Phoenix" didn't die, it doesn't return.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.

Image
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 21 Sep 2014, 14:24

Morph is not an activated ability anyway, so Arrest wouldn't affect it.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
User avatar
phlip
Posts: 1789
Joined: 24 Apr 2010, 17:48
First Video: Eternal Sonata (Unskippable)
Location: Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby phlip » 21 Sep 2014, 15:07

AdmiralMemo wrote:If Ashcloud Phoenix is face-down, it isn't "Ashcloud Phoenix" at that time. It's a creature with no name. So, if it dies, "Ashcloud Phoenix" didn't die. The unnamed creature died. Since "Ashcloud Phoenix" didn't die, it doesn't return.

Right answer, but not quite the right reasoning... the name doesn't matter, when a card names itself in an the text, it just means "this permanent/spell/card"... even if its name is different because of some effect, it still refers to itself (eg, if you have Lazav, Dimir Mastermind copying Ashcloud Phoenix and Lazav does, it'll still trigger and come back face-down even though its name isn't "Ashcloud Phoenix").

The reason the phoenix doesn't come back if you kill it while facedown is that the creature you're killing is just a 2/2 with no abilities... it doesn't have the "when this dies, bring it back face-down" ability.
While no one overhear you quickly tell me not cow cow.
but how about watch phone?

[he/him/his]
User avatar
ElFuzzy
Posts: 2124
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 07:12
First Video: Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Location: The Fields of Justice

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby ElFuzzy » 21 Sep 2014, 15:37

Cool that's what I figured on both accounts. I don't see why the pheonix is mythic then but w/e.
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 21 Sep 2014, 15:49

To get into some rules minutia, leaves-the-battlefield triggers (and a few others, see CR603.6d) look at the state of the board right before the thing died to see if it triggers. Right before the face-down Phoenix died, it was face down, and didn't have a triggered ability, so it doesn't trigger.

This is only true for abilities that trigger on leaving the battlefield, though. If you managed to get Kozilek face down, and he died, his shuffle ability will still work, even though he didn't have his trigger when he was put into the graveyard.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
User avatar
phlip
Posts: 1789
Joined: 24 Apr 2010, 17:48
First Video: Eternal Sonata (Unskippable)
Location: Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby phlip » 21 Sep 2014, 16:31

Yeah, it's a pretty unintuitive difference between "When a thing is put into the graveyard from the battlefield" and "When a thing is put into the graveyard from anywhere"...

If your animated Mutavault dies, it will trigger your Athreos but not your opponent's Profane Memento... because it was a creature on the battlefield, but not a creature card in the graveyard. Similarly, if someone Naturalises your bestowed creature, the reverse will happen, because it's an Aura card on the battlefield, but a creature card in your yard.

Certain rules are weird.
While no one overhear you quickly tell me not cow cow.
but how about watch phone?

[he/him/his]
User avatar
ElFuzzy
Posts: 2124
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 07:12
First Video: Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Location: The Fields of Justice

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby ElFuzzy » 22 Sep 2014, 15:39

If I rip a strive card out of a deck with Villainous Wealth may I target any number of plausible targets since I cast it for free? I know that if you get an X spell X is 0 but strive is different from what I remember.
User avatar
Tinfish
Posts: 124
Joined: 15 Sep 2014, 17:41
First Video: Krogslist
Location: Christchurch, NZ

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Tinfish » 22 Sep 2014, 18:06

Not a judge, but I'd suspect not - you're playing it for free on the first target, but subsequent targets would incur the strive cost.
It's fish in a tin!
User avatar
tamaness
Posts: 2673
Joined: 17 Oct 2008, 03:44
First Video: LRReview: Desert Bus
Location: Stuck between a rock and a hard place
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby tamaness » 22 Sep 2014, 18:13

You still have to pay the strive cost for additional targets, but the first target is free.
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 22 Sep 2014, 20:16

That is correct. You can play it, and pay the strive to get more targets. This is as it is an additional cost, not an alternative cost, or part of the mana cost.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
Thatguybehindyou
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Sep 2014, 03:07
First Video: Friday Nights

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Thatguybehindyou » 23 Sep 2014, 03:12

What happens if someone casts a meandering towershell, passes the turn, and the opponent casts act of treason on it, and attacks? Does it go back to the opponent because the turn ended, or since it's exiled, does it become permanently under the opponent's control? You have created a paradox, lrr.
User avatar
jkefka
Posts: 244
Joined: 28 Oct 2013, 07:08
First Video: Does Desert Bus count? Feed dump if not

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby jkefka » 23 Sep 2014, 03:38

Permanently under opponent's control. Tabak has answered this one on tumblr. The text on Towershell says "returns under your control" not "under owner's control". So, act of treason A+ sideboard tech against the towershell.
When the upkeep takes longer than the main phase, I know I've done my job well.
Atifexe
Posts: 585
Joined: 04 Mar 2014, 21:57
First Video: http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/v
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Atifexe » 27 Sep 2014, 16:15

Bestow Ruling wrote:You don’t choose whether the spell is going to be an Aura spell or not until the spell is already on the stack. Abilities that affect when you can cast a spell, such as flash, will apply to the creature card in whatever zone you’re casting it from. For example, an effect that said you can cast creature spells as though they have flash will allow you to cast a creature card with bestow as an Aura spell anytime you could cast an instant.


Unless I'm mistaken, this means that casting a Bestow creature as an aura will not trigger things that look for noncreature spells, like Prowess or Goblinslide. Is this correct?
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 27 Sep 2014, 16:44

Incorrect.

At the time the spell is cast (you've done all the steps to cast it) it's a non-creature spell and will trigger Prowess, etc.

That ruling says that at the time during the casting process that you determine if the spell *can* be cast, it's a creature spell. It changes in a later step when you decide the mode, and have to pay the alternative cost.

Casting a spell takes a few steps. The first one is putting it on the stack, and things that trigger on a spell being cast only trigger at the end. Bestow cards are Creature Spells when they're first put on the stack, but Non-creature Aura spells when they are finally cast.

Yes, it's weird.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
Atifexe
Posts: 585
Joined: 04 Mar 2014, 21:57
First Video: http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/v
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Atifexe » 27 Sep 2014, 17:00

Alright, thanks! My deck idea lives again.
User avatar
tamaness
Posts: 2673
Joined: 17 Oct 2008, 03:44
First Video: LRReview: Desert Bus
Location: Stuck between a rock and a hard place
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby tamaness » 28 Sep 2014, 13:35

steps to cast a spell:
Announce the spell
Determine modes
Declare targets (any spell with targets cannot be cast if it has no legal targets)
Determine costs (alternate costs, bestow, kicker, trinisphere)
Activate mana abilities
Pay costs

The spell has now been cast, and is on the stack. Effects (like prowess) tha look for casting of a particular type of spell look at the spell now.
User avatar
Utilitarian
Posts: 1211
Joined: 05 Nov 2012, 00:16
First Video: Checkpoint 01
Location: Burnaby, BC

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Utilitarian » 29 Sep 2014, 08:38

Question a friend asked me:

If I exile a morph card with an effect like Villainous Wealth, can I play it as a Morph, or may I only play it face up?
Look at the cards. LOOK AT THE CARDS!
The Saga of Ballchannels: My Dwarf Fortress Let's Play
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7342
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 29 Sep 2014, 09:09

From Gatherer for that card.: Because you’re already casting the cards using an alternative cost (by casting them without paying their mana costs), you can’t pay any other alternative costs for the cards, including casting them face down using the morph ability.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.

Image
User avatar
ElFuzzy
Posts: 2124
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 07:12
First Video: Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Location: The Fields of Justice

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby ElFuzzy » 04 Oct 2014, 12:40

Do you get a goblin token for each attacking creature with Mardu Ascendancy or just 1 total?
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 04 Oct 2014, 15:00

1 for each creature attacking.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7342
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 14 Oct 2014, 14:35

Consecrated Sphinx...

"Whenever an opponent draws a card, you may draw two cards."

Can you choose to draw 1 card? It's a may... Though... I'm not sure, depending on the specific rules. It might be just 0 or 2.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.

Image
User avatar
Duckay
Posts: 3706
Joined: 05 Jun 2011, 00:57
First Video: Man Cooking
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Duckay » 14 Oct 2014, 14:39

The Gatherer ruling says you may choose only to draw 2 or not to draw at all.
User avatar
ElFuzzy
Posts: 2124
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 07:12
First Video: Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Location: The Fields of Justice

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby ElFuzzy » 14 Oct 2014, 14:58

It would be worded, "Whenever an opponent draws a card, you may draw UP TO 2 cards"
Aaron9797
Posts: 71
Joined: 23 Jul 2014, 18:33
First Video: ransom

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Aaron9797 » 16 Oct 2014, 19:14

if my opponent has a platnum emperion and i attack with zombies with unead alchemist in play will nothing happen or will my opponent mill
User avatar
Duckay
Posts: 3706
Joined: 05 Jun 2011, 00:57
First Video: Man Cooking
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Duckay » 16 Oct 2014, 19:19

I'm guessing that they will still mill based on these Gatherer rulings on Platinum Emperion:

The ability doesn't prevent damage. Rather, it changes the results of that damage. For example, if a creature with lifelink deals damage to you, you won't lose any life, but its controller will still gain that much life. Similarly, if a creature you control with lifelink deals damage to another player, that player will lose life but you won't gain any life. Notably, if a creature with infect deals damage to you, you'll get that many poison counters

Abilities that trigger whenever damage is dealt to you will still trigger because that damage is still dealt, even though your life total doesn't change as a result.


So because the combat damage would still be "dealt" (though it wouldn't do anything), I can't imagine why Undead Alchemist's ability wouldn't happen. That being said, I am not a judge.

Return to “Magic: The Gathering”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests