Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

A place to talk about standard, casual, limited and everything in between.
User avatar
ThePasserby
Posts: 35
Joined: 30 Dec 2014, 10:10
First Video: Mercenary Solutions

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby ThePasserby » 29 Sep 2015, 02:36

Question!

Genesis Wave and ETB effects in relation to cards that respond to ETB of other stuff.

What happens when you have put into the battlefield a card like Courser of Kruphix, or a Landfall related card, via Genesis Wave and a whole bunch of lands? Does Courser trigger and you gain life? Also on that note, Omnath, Locus of Rage and a bunch of lands? Does Landfall Trigger and give me all these elementals?
Kindness is the language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see. -Mark Twain
SixFootTurkey
Posts: 361
Joined: 18 Nov 2012, 03:54
First Video: PAX Prime '12 panel (recorded)

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SixFootTurkey » 29 Sep 2015, 05:13

(Firstly, a disclaimer that replacement effects such as 'enters the battlefield tapped unless...' or 'enters the battlefield with...' are handled a bit differently, but I'll hold on that for now unless you're curious.)

For triggers, the cards are all entering simultaneously, so their triggers will go off for each permanent on the battlefield before any of them entered, and each other permanent entering at the same time. You will indeed get a landfall trigger for each land entering with Courser or Omnath.

Another example for this, is something like putting two Tajuru Warcaller onto the battlefield simultaneously. You will get a total of four triggers; each will trigger itself, as well as the other, for a net +8/+8 to your team.
User avatar
necargoface
Posts: 28
Joined: 29 Jul 2014, 11:31
First Video: Friday Nights- Time Walk

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby necargoface » 02 Oct 2015, 08:37

How does Iona, Shield of Emeria work with Devoid?
This is a signature. You are a human. This conversation is over
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7337
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 02 Oct 2015, 09:04

The cards are colorless, so they can indeed be cast. A card's color and the mana required to cast it are not necessarily related. (They are typically related, but other factors can affect that, such as keywords in this example.) A key example of card color and mana to cast it not being related is Transguild Courier. You can choose to pay for it using only colorless mana, but the card itself, in all zones, is every color. It is White, Blue, Black, Red, and Green, even if you use, say 4 Darksteel Citadels to cast it.

So if your opponent has Iona down, naming Blue, you can still cast Benthic Infiltrator, for example, because Benthic Infiltrator is colorless, not Blue.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.

Image
User avatar
ThePasserby
Posts: 35
Joined: 30 Dec 2014, 10:10
First Video: Mercenary Solutions

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby ThePasserby » 05 Oct 2015, 02:33

Another question about Omnath Locus of Rage.

What would happen if someone board wipes Omnath with several elemental tokens? Even though they all die at the same time, Omanth will trigger for however many Elementals die and deal n*3 damage to target creature or opponent right?
Kindness is the language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see. -Mark Twain
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7337
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 05 Oct 2015, 04:16

Not a judge, but sounds right to me. Many things in the game trigger on simultaneous death. Take Altac Bloodseeker for example. Board-wipe and the "+2/+0, first strike, haste" triggers still go on the stack, even though the Bloodseeker is no longer on the board to actually be affected by them.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.

Image
SixFootTurkey
Posts: 361
Joined: 18 Nov 2012, 03:54
First Video: PAX Prime '12 panel (recorded)

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SixFootTurkey » 05 Oct 2015, 04:25

Yes, Omnath's ability will trigger for each Elemental (including Omnath). (See 603.6d regarding how leaves-the-battlefield abilities 'look back in time.')
Aaron9797
Posts: 70
Joined: 23 Jul 2014, 18:33
First Video: ransom

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Aaron9797 » 05 Oct 2015, 22:06

if you restart the game with karn lierated do players lose emblems?
User avatar
tamaness
Posts: 2673
Joined: 17 Oct 2008, 03:44
First Video: LRReview: Desert Bus
Location: Stuck between a rock and a hard place
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby tamaness » 06 Oct 2015, 00:36

Aaron9797 wrote:if you restart the game with karn lierated do players lose emblems?

Yes, restarting the game will remove emblems, and as of time of writing is the only way to remove emblems.
User avatar
JackSlack
Posts: 4572
Joined: 15 Oct 2010, 19:46
First Video: ENN, but I forget which.
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby JackSlack » 06 Oct 2015, 16:33

With four Kalastria Healers in the graveyard and nothing else, I cast March from the Tomb.

How much am I cackling here? Is it 16 points worth of cackling, 10 points of cackling or 4 points of cackling?
User avatar
Duckay
Posts: 3706
Joined: 05 Jun 2011, 00:57
First Video: Man Cooking
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Duckay » 06 Oct 2015, 17:27

16 points. They all enter at the same time and see each other enter, so each one will trigger for itself and for each other Ally.
User avatar
JackSlack
Posts: 4572
Joined: 15 Oct 2010, 19:46
First Video: ENN, but I forget which.
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby JackSlack » 06 Oct 2015, 18:16

That's what I thought. CACKLING FOREVER!
User avatar
cuddlyblade
Posts: 431
Joined: 06 Jan 2013, 19:32
First Video: reduce your footprint
Location: Ireland

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby cuddlyblade » 10 Oct 2015, 10:58

Do basic lands have a colour? Like for example if you made an island a creature and have something that gave +1/1 to blue creatures would it get it?
Trust me, I'm a scientist.
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7337
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 10 Oct 2015, 11:36

Nope. Unless otherwise indicated, lands are colorless. In fact, the only land in MtG that has a color naturally is Dryad Arbor.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.

Image
Aaron9797
Posts: 70
Joined: 23 Jul 2014, 18:33
First Video: ransom

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Aaron9797 » 18 Oct 2015, 16:08

if a phage the untouchable is exiled my karn liberated and the game is restated with karn dose that player lose the game
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 18 Oct 2015, 17:12

Yes.

As part of the "restart the game" process, exiled cards are put onto the battlefield, and any abilities trigger, including Phage's. The Karn player will probably be unhappy about this.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
SixFootTurkey
Posts: 361
Joined: 18 Nov 2012, 03:54
First Video: PAX Prime '12 panel (recorded)

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SixFootTurkey » 18 Oct 2015, 17:21

Unless they have some way of counteracting that trigger, the player who activated Karn's -14 will lose.
User avatar
tamaness
Posts: 2673
Joined: 17 Oct 2008, 03:44
First Video: LRReview: Desert Bus
Location: Stuck between a rock and a hard place
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby tamaness » 26 Oct 2015, 15:12

Huh, I guess I need to board in Phage vs. Karn...
SixFootTurkey
Posts: 361
Joined: 18 Nov 2012, 03:54
First Video: PAX Prime '12 panel (recorded)

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SixFootTurkey » 27 Oct 2015, 02:13

They can also just choose not to restart the game; if they're at 14 loyalty, they're sitting pretty nice. Phage seems a non-ideal board; you typically want a hard counter, or a mostly hard counter that is good against numerous things. Phage is... okay... ish... against Karn.
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7337
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 06 Nov 2015, 09:49

Does this work the way I want it to? Noyan Dar + Possibility Storm = 2 Awakened lands per instant or sorcery? It says cast twice on Possibility Storm, once on the initial cast from hand, and a second time when casting from exile. So I think that triggers Noyan twice. If so, that's great for me.

I'm trying to make a Narset Commander deck with as few actual creatures as possible, with token-making spells and Awakened lands filling in.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.

Image
SixFootTurkey
Posts: 361
Joined: 18 Nov 2012, 03:54
First Video: PAX Prime '12 panel (recorded)

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SixFootTurkey » 06 Nov 2015, 10:48

Yes.

Depending on how you stack the triggers, you will end up with one of these stacks:
A) ND1 < New Spell < ND2 [top]
B) New Spell < ND2 [top] (with ND1 already resolved)
Kaorti
Posts: 11
Joined: 13 Sep 2015, 15:26
First Video: Omni-Lingual

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Kaorti » 08 Nov 2015, 20:49

How does Epic Experement interact with retrace?

If my epic experiment hits Call the Skybreaker, can I cast the spell, then retrace it by discarding land without paying a mana cost?
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 08 Nov 2015, 21:07

It doesn't interact at all. You cast Epic Experiment, and during the resolution of it, you can cast other spells for free, including those with Retrace. Then, Epic Experiment finishes resolving, and goes to the graveyard, and you have some spells on the stack to deal with.

Even if Epic Experiment let you case those spells until the end of turn, or whenever (see Psychic Intrusion or Daxos of Meletis), once you cast it once, it goes to the graveyard and the game sees it as a completely new object, and no longer allows you to cast it under the modified conditions (like casting it for free).

TL;DR: No.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
Aaron9797
Posts: 70
Joined: 23 Jul 2014, 18:33
First Video: ransom

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Aaron9797 » 11 Nov 2015, 23:24

if i cast ezuri's predation and have aether charge on the battlefield do the beast have to fight creatures or can i use aether charge to defeat an opponent before the beast fight so i keep the beasts
Atifexe
Posts: 585
Joined: 04 Mar 2014, 21:57
First Video: http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/v
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Atifexe » 11 Nov 2015, 23:54

You must resolve Ezuri's Predation before the effects of AEther Charge can resolve. Your beasts must fight first.

Return to “Magic: The Gathering”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests