Life Counter smartphone apps

A place to talk about standard, casual, limited and everything in between.
Maf
First Video: I have no idea, actually

Life Counter smartphone apps

Postby Maf » 24 May 2013, 07:54

Hai guys,

So, slightly ulterior motive here, but I was hoping to start a discussion about using a smartphone app as a life counter when playing paper Magic.

(For the purposes of tl;dr, I shall put this random bit of backstory in italics. You’re welcome to skip it!)

I downloaded a few free ones from the Google Play store a few months back, to save having to carry pen/paper/D20s around. I saw “MTG Familiar” recommended somewhere, but the storage requirements were a problem, as it insisted on downloading all the latest cards and taking a sizeable chunk of my phone’s paltry 64MB internal storage. I tried out a few smaller apps, but found them not to my liking. As a software developer by trade, and having been made redundant in July 2012, I was looking for a productive way to spend my time. In January, I decided to make my own life-counter app as a learning exercise. In an attempt to avoid making this all about self-promotion, I shall refrain from just posting links to all of my apps on the Market, but can do if people are interested. I’ve been meaning to get involved with the LRR community more for ages, especially since being unemployed meant I was able to watch 18 hours of DB a day when it was on. So much LRR! Good times. Shame to be starting with such a self-serving thread topic, but I couldn’t think of a better place for such a discussion. Also, we all know LRR people are the best people, so I thought this might be a place I could ask a few questions with minimal flaming :). I mention all this as preamble to mention/ask a few things:

1) Do people generally use an app when playing paper Magic?
2) If so, is there a (or a few) definitive app that everybody uses?
3) If not, what would people consider to be the ideal app for such things.

Cheers!