Khans of Tarkir Speculation

A place to talk about standard, casual, limited and everything in between.
WP&P
First Video: Friday Nights

Khans of Tarkir Speculation

Postby WP&P » 19 Jul 2014, 11:14

I keep listening to various podcasts and seeing videos that venture to say something or another about Khans, without ever mentioning what I think is fairly obvious. I did a search on these forums and found one post that suggests this - only one.

"Khans" were the leaders of the Mongols.

China erected a big old wall to try to keep out the Mongols.

And in M15 we're getting references to "walls" again, after a long "defender" dry spell.

I'm pretty sure that Khans is going to have a "walls matter" theme to it, and since I am an architect by trade I think I am going to have fun putting up some walls. But, just how are walls going to become cool? Last year we had a good idea that we were going to see "enchantments matter" in the Theros block, but until Bestow was revealed, did we have any real expectation for how they were going to achieve it?

So, are there any theories on how walls are going to get built?
What do model railroading and Magic: The Gathering have in common?
I don't have enough time or money for either!

http://wpandp.com/Home/the-rest/borderlands-a-custom-mtg-set/eclipse-an-expansion-for-borderlands/
susu.exp
First Video: FN - The Return

Re: Khans of Tarkir Speculation

Postby susu.exp » 19 Jul 2014, 12:13

Richard Garfield at some point designed a card type that worked like equipment for lands. I could see that representing defensive structures - either animating lands into defenders, or giving static boni.