Question about D&D

Share your latest adventures with anything tabletop: RPGs, boardgames, miniatures, etc.
Valkyrie-Lemons
First Video: Spoken Word

Question about D&D

Postby Valkyrie-Lemons » 26 Nov 2012, 09:42

So I've always wanted to play D&D but none of my friends play it or are remotely interested in it. However, I'm thinking about persuading them to try it (or more like press-gang them into it).

My question is what do you experienced D&Ders recommend I buy or use for a first timer?

I'm familiar with some of the basic rules/classes/races etc because of things like Baluder's Gate but apart from that I'm pretty much a total beginner.

So any advice guys(/girls)?
Prospero101 wrote:...is it weird that I REALLY hope that someday I say something memorable enough to be quoted in someone else's signature?

I'm trying this 'Twitter' thing, if you just want to send a message/question/joke, please send it to: @Valkyrie_Lemons , thanks!
Metcarfre
First Video: Not Applicable

Re: Question about D&D

Postby Metcarfre » 26 Nov 2012, 11:20

I haven't really played, but to try it out you could just download the basic manuals and play a session or two that way before buying the books.
RedNightmare
First Video: The Job

Postby RedNightmare » 26 Nov 2012, 11:39

The Red Box is the current go-to starter box at the time. However, there are some free adventures with quick-start rules and sample characters here: http://www.wizards.com/dnd/Feature.aspx?x=new/learntoplay

Also, you could register for the D&D Next playtest. This gives you access to the new rules for free, but they assume some knowledge of the game in general here and there and are still in development. Plus you would have to come up with adventures of your own (Which I prefer).