Ask An Astronomer

Drop by and talk about anything you want. This is where all cheese-related discussions should go
Lord Chrusher
Can't Drink Possible Beers
First Video: Door to Door

Ask An Astronomer

Postby Lord Chrusher » 02 Feb 2012, 04:24

EDIT: WARNING THIS IS AN IMAGE HEAVY THREAD

As many of you know I am doing a PhD in astrophysics.

Prompted by this
Master Gunner wrote:I've learned far more from your posts than what I've learned in the class so far ....

I have decided to ask you for any questions you might have about astronomy and try to answer them.

A couple caveats:
I am not guaranty that I will answer all questions. Also some concepts are quite difficult to your head around.

To start things off a few big pretty pictures:

Credit: ESO/INAF-VST/OmegaCAM. Acknowledgement: A. Grado/INAF-Capodimonte Observatory

Credit ESO/J. Emerson/VISTA. Acknowledgment: Cambridge Astronomical Survey Unit

Credit: ESO

Credit: ESO
We are all made of star dust. However we are also made of nuclear waste.
Remember to think before you post.
General Michi
First Video: 3 PS3s

Re: Ask An Astronomer

Postby General Michi » 02 Feb 2012, 04:41

What is the furthest known star/solar system

Can't remember the moon's name but I heard that one of Jupiter's moons (or maybe it was Saturn's) is capable of supporting life. Have there been any recent advancements in this theory?

Is there a nebula that looks like the Eye of Sauran.

What does my horoscope say about me today?
We put the brick on the accelerator.

Image Image

Twitter Steam Tumblblar
Lord Chrusher

Postby Lord Chrusher » 02 Feb 2012, 05:28

General Michi wrote:What is the furthest known star/solar system

The furthest known planet is GOGLE-2005-BLG-390Lb which is 21 500 ly (6.6 kpc) away. It has a mass about six times that of Earth and orbits its star, GOGLE-2005-BLG-390L, once every ten years.