Uninstalling Symantec Suite

Drop by and talk about anything you want. This is where all cheese-related discussions should go
User avatar
Dr Frankenjam
Posts: 945
Joined: 08 Jan 2007, 11:47
Location: En-ger-land
Contact:

Uninstalling Symantec Suite

Postby Dr Frankenjam » 12 Jul 2007, 02:01

Frankenjam wrote:"AAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!"


This is my third attempt in the last month or so to uninstall Symantec Suite Corporate Edition. I'm even using a guide this time.

http://www.askdavetaylor.com/how_to_ful ... om_pc.html

But i've been working through it, have got to step 7 aaaannnd... all the original stuff i deleted seems to of reapeared!!!

It's a bloody virus in itself :(

There seems to be nothing i can actually do to rid myself of it. I'm just gonna keep ripping out it's components for the next hour or so, but if nothing works i guess i'll just have to live with this pile of crap.
Image
User avatar
Stephen_S
Posts: 386
Joined: 19 Sep 2006, 13:57
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Contact:

Postby Stephen_S » 12 Jul 2007, 04:58

Doesn't Symantec have something in their KB that allows you to download a program to remove all traces of it?

I've also used Registry Mechanic to clean out any leftover registry entries.
Le grá,

Steve
User avatar
Under13
Posts: 886
Joined: 19 Oct 2005, 09:48
Location: work

Re: Uninstalling Symantec Suite

Postby Under13 » 12 Jul 2007, 06:07

Dr Frankenjam wrote:It's a bloody virus in itself :(


Which, honestly, is a very smart thing for AV software to be. If it was EASY to uninstall, then it would be EASY to write a virus that would uninstall Norton before making with teh painz.

Have you considered a good ol' backup / fdisk / reinstall?
<>{
User avatar
Dr Frankenjam
Posts: 945
Joined: 08 Jan 2007, 11:47
Location: En-ger-land
Contact:

Postby Dr Frankenjam » 12 Jul 2007, 06:18

Well that guide i've posted in my first post seems to of done the trick actually... I've got a RestoreIT point before and after all the registry tweaking though.

Now to install Avast!

And then find a firewall.
Image
User avatar
Under13
Posts: 886
Joined: 19 Oct 2005, 09:48
Location: work

Postby Under13 » 12 Jul 2007, 06:21

Avast?

Wouldn't that require a "fiARRRwall?"
<>{
User avatar
The Happy Friar
Posts: 678
Joined: 31 Oct 2006, 22:25
Location: The little glowing place south of Buffalo
Contact:

Postby The Happy Friar » 12 Jul 2007, 08:40

Sunbelt Personal Firewall. Awesome! Makes Zonealarm seem to have the security of a 7-11! :D
User avatar
Dr Frankenjam
Posts: 945
Joined: 08 Jan 2007, 11:47
Location: En-ger-land
Contact:

Postby Dr Frankenjam » 12 Jul 2007, 11:23

Well that was a waste of an entire freaking day...
Remember when i posted that i'd got rid of it? Well systematically after that moment everything on my PC started to slowly shut down and refuse to work. Like i'd just slashed it's achilles or something.

So now the only way i could fix it was to Restore the PC to the day before yesterday before i'd done any of this.

Which means... Symantec is BACK... :cry: :cry: :cry:
Image
User avatar
owl+ bungee cord= my arse
Posts: 191
Joined: 22 Feb 2007, 11:17
First Video: I do not remember it was years ago.
Location: Behind you

Postby owl+ bungee cord= my arse » 12 Jul 2007, 12:09

This worked for one computer but failed on my other virus filled computer.

http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2005033108162039
Image
Image

Return to “General Discussion”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests