Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

A place to talk about standard, casual, limited and everything in between.
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7340
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 20 Apr 2014, 23:15

Just checking to make sure...

Myr Landshaper is in play. Tap to make my Swamp (or really just about any land, but you'll see why black in a moment) an artifact UEOT. So now it's an artifact land. I cast Phylactery Lich and put the phylactery counter on my artifact Swamp. When the turn ends and the Swamp is no longer an artifact, the counter stays and the Lich stays, right? From what I understand of the Lich's phrasing, it doesn't have to be an artifact that the counter's on. It just has to be a permanent of some type, which the Swamp fulfills, even after it's no longer an artifact.

Just want to make sure I've got that right.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.

Image
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 20 Apr 2014, 23:55

From the gatherer rulings:
Phylactery Lich's last ability checks whether you control any permanents with phylactery counters on them, not whether you control any artifacts with phylactery counters on them. If an artifact with a phylactery counter on it somehow ceases to be an artifact, Phylactery Lich doesn't care.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7340
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 22 Apr 2014, 12:23

LRL chat had a good one:

Can you deal 0 damage to a creature while still targeting it with Conflagrate?

Say I pay 7 mana. Can I target 3 creatures, and have it deal 3, 0, and 0 damage? If so, that works well with Heroic triggers, so I can target my own guys.
Last edited by AdmiralMemo on 22 Apr 2014, 12:30, edited 1 time in total.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.

Image
User avatar
ElFuzzy
Posts: 2124
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 07:12
First Video: Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Location: The Fields of Justice

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby ElFuzzy » 22 Apr 2014, 12:28

Not a judge, but I feel like you cannot. A ruling on gatherer says if X is 0 there must be zero targets and if X is >= 1 then there must be at least 1 target. Ergo you need to deal at least 1 point of damage to a creature to be able to target it with Conflagrate.
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7340
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 22 Apr 2014, 12:31

This is why I was asking. I have the right amount of damage, equal to the number of targets. It's just the distribution that's unequal.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.

Image
User avatar
jkefka
Posts: 244
Joined: 28 Oct 2013, 07:08
First Video: Does Desert Bus count? Feed dump if not

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby jkefka » 22 Apr 2014, 12:41

That is a fascinating edge case. Most cards of the type specify that you can't assign zero, but this one just restricts the maximum number of targets to the value of X while still giving you "divided as you choose."

Not a judge, but I was curious enough that I poked around the comp rules for this one. I am now sure the answer is that you can't assign 0, and here's the relevant rule:

601.2d If the spell requires the player to divide or distribute an effect (such as damage or counters) among one or more targets, the player announces the division. Each of these targets must receive at least one of whatever is being divided.
When the upkeep takes longer than the main phase, I know I've done my job well.
User avatar
ElFuzzy
Posts: 2124
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 07:12
First Video: Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Location: The Fields of Justice

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby ElFuzzy » 22 Apr 2014, 13:05

Sweet, I think I was right? Where do you look up rulings? mtg salvtion?
User avatar
jkefka
Posts: 244
Joined: 28 Oct 2013, 07:08
First Video: Does Desert Bus count? Feed dump if not

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby jkefka » 22 Apr 2014, 13:09

ElFuzzy wrote:Sweet, I think I was right? Where do you look up rulings? mtg salvtion?


That wasn't really a ruling. The card-specific rulings you either google or see on Gatherer at the bottom of the page. This one I just went to the comp rules (which you can find via google or on MTG's homepage) and searched "divide" within the document, figuring that it would be the most relevant piece of the text.
When the upkeep takes longer than the main phase, I know I've done my job well.
SilPho
Posts: 1640
Joined: 26 Apr 2010, 09:46
First Video: Desert Bus 3
Location: Usually the UK

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SilPho » 22 Apr 2014, 14:31

There are a few sites on the Internet that provide hyper linked and searchable versions of the Comprehensive Rules, and the vast majority of the rules change so rarely or in such subtle ways that even if these sites are not at the latest versions they will still meet your needs easily.

But, if you do want to find the very latest official rules (updated every 3-4 months, if I remember correctly) this is the link you need:

http://www.wizards.com/Magic/TCG/Article.aspx?x=magic/rules
User avatar
ElFuzzy
Posts: 2124
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 07:12
First Video: Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Location: The Fields of Justice

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby ElFuzzy » 22 Apr 2014, 15:37

Thanks!
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 22 Apr 2014, 17:01

Tabak typically will make a post on the mothership about any changes that happen with each set release. These usually don't have a lot of impact, beyond adding the rules for new mechanics, and updating Mistform Ultimatus (it's now a God).
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7340
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 22 Apr 2014, 17:38

Mistform Ultimatus and all Changelings, too.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.

Image
User avatar
tamaness
Posts: 2673
Joined: 17 Oct 2008, 03:44
First Video: LRReview: Desert Bus
Location: Stuck between a rock and a hard place
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby tamaness » 23 Apr 2014, 01:20

yawgatog is a good online rules lookup. it's also kept up to date. I just wish yawgatog would do the the MTR and IPG, too.
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 23 Apr 2014, 02:26

What timing! I was just talking about Matt Tabak's post, and here it is: http://www.wizards.com/Magic/Magazine/A ... Ffaq%2Fjou
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
User avatar
tamaness
Posts: 2673
Joined: 17 Oct 2008, 03:44
First Video: LRReview: Desert Bus
Location: Stuck between a rock and a hard place
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby tamaness » 23 Apr 2014, 03:24

too bad it didn't go up in time for this week's Judgecast to go over the new rules.
User avatar
SomeCallMeTim
Posts: 70
Joined: 20 Nov 2012, 13:57
First Video: Desert Bus 2

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SomeCallMeTim » 23 Apr 2014, 15:48

So this came up today between a match between a friend and I, and I'm pretty sure I know the end result but I'm a little fuzzy on how it works rules-wise. I'm playing black devotion and he's mono-blue. I have an Erebos out,and my devotion is above 5 so he's a creature. If my opponent domesticates my Erebos, obviously himself having less than five black devotion, will Erebos stop being a creature as a state based action at the end of his turn (resulting in Domestication falling off), or immediately after he steals it? Or am I completely off base and he still gets a 5/7 even though he doesn't have the devotion?

Apologies if this or something similar has been asked before, I'm dedicated but I'm not reading back like 10 pages >.>
BE RIGHT THERE HOMBRE!
chetoos
Posts: 390
Joined: 10 Jul 2011, 16:32
First Video: The Job

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby chetoos » 23 Apr 2014, 15:50

His black devotion is less than five, so as soon as he takes Erebos, it becomes not a creature, so you get it back immediately. I'm not a judge, though, so if an actual judge has an answer, defer to them.
My Youtube Channel. Currently, I have a daily series where I play games that I like. Right now, it's Double Dragon Advance. I also have a weekly series where I play as the Archenemy from Duels 2012
User avatar
phlip
Posts: 1789
Joined: 24 Apr 2010, 17:48
First Video: Eternal Sonata (Unskippable)
Location: Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby phlip » 23 Apr 2014, 16:13

Yeah. When Domestication resolves, Erebos will change from being a creature under your control, to a non-creature under your opponent's control, because of the static ability that checks devotion. Next time state-based actions are checked, it will see an aura enchanting an illegal target (since Domestication has "Enchant creature") so it'll be put into its owner's graveyard, and you'll get Erebos back (and it'll turn back into a creature again).

Erebos does actually briefly change controllers in the whole process, so it'll be summoning-sick again once it's back on your side, but that likely won't matter, as your opponent is presumably casting Domestication in their own turn (unless they have some way to give it Flash)...
While no one overhear you quickly tell me not cow cow.
but how about watch phone?

[he/him/his]
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 23 Apr 2014, 16:16

Domestication is an Enchant Creature. As soon as he controls Erebos, he will no longer be a creature due to a lack of devotion (the Gods are fickle like that). State Based Actions will cause Domestication to fall off (so he does control him very, very briefly, but won't have any time to do anything with him), and you will get him back immediately, where his devoted followers will make him a creature again.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
User avatar
SomeCallMeTim
Posts: 70
Joined: 20 Nov 2012, 13:57
First Video: Desert Bus 2

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SomeCallMeTim » 23 Apr 2014, 16:23

Thanks! Like I said, figured it worked that way, just wanted to know the nitty gritty steps.
BE RIGHT THERE HOMBRE!
Firbozz
Posts: 134
Joined: 23 Nov 2013, 22:30
First Video: Don't remember... 2-3 years ago

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Firbozz » 24 Apr 2014, 07:20

New set question: I have a Deserter's Quarters, and have tapped down one creature with it. Since the card says "It doesn't untap during its controller's untap step for as long as Deserter's Quarters remains tapped," can I untap it on my turn, re-activate it, and keep two creatures tapped down? Or does the "for as long as" mean that the new instance of being tapped won't connect to the creature originally targeted?
User avatar
tamaness
Posts: 2673
Joined: 17 Oct 2008, 03:44
First Video: LRReview: Desert Bus
Location: Stuck between a rock and a hard place
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby tamaness » 24 Apr 2014, 09:48

"for as long as" sets up a duration. The original creature will untap on its controller's next untap step.
User avatar
Robert Merlow
Posts: 165
Joined: 19 Aug 2009, 23:57
First Video: Phailhaus 11
Location: Where Charles Shultz Lived

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Robert Merlow » 25 Apr 2014, 14:23

I have a question about Hidden Strings and heroic. With Hidden Strings wording, can you target a heroic creature twice with it as a single spell and result in 2 heroic triggers?
User avatar
Kapol
Posts: 6120
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 03:31
First Video: Whisky Tango Foxtrot
Location: The ever-shifting landscape of the mind

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Kapol » 25 Apr 2014, 14:25

No. In Hidden Strings case, you can't target the same thing. But even if you could, a spell can only trigger heroic once.
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7340
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 25 Apr 2014, 17:27

So you'd only get 1 Heroic out of Common Bond targeting the same guy, then?
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.

Image

Return to “Magic: The Gathering”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests