Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

A place to talk about standard, casual, limited and everything in between.
chetoos
Posts: 390
Joined: 10 Jul 2011, 16:32
First Video: The Job

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby chetoos » 29 Jan 2015, 11:11

If I ultimate Nissa, Worldwaker while I have out either Living Plane or Nature's revolt, what happens? How big are my forests?
My Youtube Channel. Currently, I have a daily series where I play games that I like. Right now, it's Double Dragon Advance. I also have a weekly series where I play as the Archenemy from Duels 2012
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 29 Jan 2015, 13:51

Memo, X is 0 if you didn't pay for it, sorry.


RytelCSF, If they don't want you to, no, but you can always ask. Your opponent needs to make sure his cards are always in an unambiguous state, which includes not hiding the order morphes, etc came into play. If they're not doing so, call for a judge.

chetoos, Depends on timestamps. If the enchantments are in play already, the lands will be 4/4s, if you cast them later, the lands will become 2/2s or 1/1s.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
User avatar
RytelCSF
Posts: 644
Joined: 26 Jan 2009, 18:22
First Video: Son of a Bitch
Location: The Outskirts of Nowhere (Ohio)

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby RytelCSF » 29 Jan 2015, 14:24

That's what I figured. As much I like the idea of the Manifest mechanic, it boggles my mind how they thought it and Morph in the same limited environment was a good idea. It seems way too easy to misrepresent the board state.
User avatar
phlip
Posts: 1789
Joined: 24 Apr 2010, 17:48
First Video: Eternal Sonata (Unskippable)
Location: Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby phlip » 29 Jan 2015, 15:47

AdmiralMemo wrote:So Judges... Am I right in all of this?

I'm pretty sure you're right, yes.

They could theoretically make a card that cares about what X you paid to turn it face up (they did for morphs...) but I don't believe there are any out there.
While no one overhear you quickly tell me not cow cow.
but how about watch phone?

[he/him/his]
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 29 Jan 2015, 16:03

phlip wrote:
AdmiralMemo wrote:So Judges... Am I right in all of this?

I'm pretty sure you're right, yes.

They could theoretically make a card that cares about what X you paid to turn it face up (they did for morphs...) but I don't believe there are any out there.

No, you can't choose to pay X for manifest: http://tabakrules.tumblr.com/post/10701 ... rn-it-face
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
User avatar
phlip
Posts: 1789
Joined: 24 Apr 2010, 17:48
First Video: Eternal Sonata (Unskippable)
Location: Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby phlip » 29 Jan 2015, 16:12

korvys wrote:No, you can't choose to pay X for manifest: http://tabakrules.tumblr.com/post/10701 ... rn-it-face

Really? Huh. It says you can turn it up for "its mana cost", and its mana cost is XGG, so I thought...

You treat X as zero when calculating the converted mana cost, but that's not what's important here...
While no one overhear you quickly tell me not cow cow.
but how about watch phone?

[he/him/his]
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 29 Jan 2015, 16:17

It was made more clear in the latest CR update:
http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/rules-changes/ktk-frf/

If an effect instructs a player to pay an object's mana cost that includes {X}, the value of X is treated as 0 unless the object is a spell on the stack. In that case, the value of X is the value chosen or determined for it as the spell was cast.


By the way, Yawgatog is soooo useful.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
User avatar
phlip
Posts: 1789
Joined: 24 Apr 2010, 17:48
First Video: Eternal Sonata (Unskippable)
Location: Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby phlip » 29 Jan 2015, 16:25

korvys wrote:By the way, Yawgatog is soooo useful.

Wow, yeah, that's pretty awesome.

Though I note that there isn't a change in there that clarifies our "Is delve a replacement effect"/"is Soulflayer a linked ability" questions...
While no one overhear you quickly tell me not cow cow.
but how about watch phone?

[he/him/his]
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7337
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 29 Jan 2015, 19:55

Hunh. Good that they clarified that. :)
So, the rules say it's auto-set to 0, but I'm guessing that even if you could set it, there would be no practical reason to set it to anything but 0 under normal circumstances anyway. :)
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.

Image
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 29 Jan 2015, 20:09

Probably not. Given some time, I could probably find a corner case, but I'm not going to bother, since it doesn't work.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
User avatar
Utilitarian
Posts: 1211
Joined: 05 Nov 2012, 00:16
First Video: Checkpoint 01
Location: Burnaby, BC

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Utilitarian » 30 Jan 2015, 14:32

If a card I own (and control) gives my opponent a Token creature, who owns that token?
Look at the cards. LOOK AT THE CARDS!
The Saga of Ballchannels: My Dwarf Fortress Let's Play
User avatar
AdmiralMemo
Posts: 7337
Joined: 27 Nov 2011, 18:29
First Video: Unskippable: Eternal Sonata
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby AdmiralMemo » 30 Jan 2015, 15:03

Not a judge, but I'd say opponent.
I could make sure by trying to steal back an Akroan Horse on MtGO, if you want.
Graham wrote:The point is: Nyeh nyeh nyeh. I'm an old man.
LRRcast wrote:Paul: That does not answer that question at all.
James: Who cares about that question? That's a good answer.

Image
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 30 Jan 2015, 18:18

110.5a. A token is both owned and controlled by the player under whose control it entered the battlefield.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
SilPho
Posts: 1640
Joined: 26 Apr 2010, 09:46
First Video: Desert Bus 3
Location: Usually the UK

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SilPho » 31 Jan 2015, 02:20

Thanks for finding that, korvys. That's the rule I didn't have time to search for last night.

It wasn't always like that, it used to be that whoever controlled the effect that created the tokens would be the owner, but that would make cards like Ravnica's Hunted creature cycle quite counter-intuitive, so now it all makes more sense.
User avatar
ElFuzzy
Posts: 2124
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 07:12
First Video: Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Location: The Fields of Justice

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby ElFuzzy » 02 Feb 2015, 22:01

What happens if you draw every match of an FNM? As in you force the match to a draw every match of each round.
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 02 Feb 2015, 23:00

Well, depends on how they organise it. Sometimes, the prizes are based on the record, so ask the organiser. For normal tournaments, which includes most FNMs, your prizes will be based on your ranking. You get 3 points for a win, 0 for a lose, and 1 for draw. People the same point score are separated by game win percentage, opponent's match win percentage, and opponent's game win percentage.

So, roughly, given a 4 round FNM, going 0-0-4 is the same as 1-2-1.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
User avatar
ElFuzzy
Posts: 2124
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 07:12
First Video: Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Location: The Fields of Justice

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby ElFuzzy » 03 Feb 2015, 05:44

Cool, I'm going for an immoral victory anyway so prizes aren't my main concern. I'm gonna crush peoples hopes and dreams! :D
User avatar
korvys
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Apr 2013, 14:48
First Video: Zero Punctuation: X-Blades/Halo Wars
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby korvys » 03 Feb 2015, 14:09

Note, if you are trying to draw matches by drawing games, that matches are not just 3 games, they are first to 2 wins. If you draw every game, you keep playing, until time runs out, or someone wins 2 games.
"Why does Sonic chill like dawgs?" - Graham
"Causation. Still a leading cause of correlation"" - Oglaf

Google+ / Twitter / Mastodon
keybase.io
User avatar
Kapol
Posts: 6120
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 03:31
First Video: Whisky Tango Foxtrot
Location: The ever-shifting landscape of the mind

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Kapol » 03 Feb 2015, 15:02

Yea. You could always lose 0-1-99. Though I consider that a moral victory.
User avatar
Jenelmo
Posts: 572
Joined: 30 Apr 2012, 06:26
First Video: Friday nights: Untap
Location: Denmark

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Jenelmo » 03 Feb 2015, 22:01

I don't know the format you are playing but there is style points in getting a draw with the card Divine Intervention
There must always be a Stark in the Moonbase
User avatar
ElFuzzy
Posts: 2124
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 07:12
First Video: Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Location: The Fields of Justice

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby ElFuzzy » 04 Feb 2015, 11:25

Ah it didn't occur to me that you need two wins to end a match. To time it is then! Get to play more magic that way. And the win con is Fascination, I just need to get the deck consistent enough.

Also, if I go 0/1/99 do I win the FMN via points anyway?
SilPho
Posts: 1640
Joined: 26 Apr 2010, 09:46
First Video: Desert Bus 3
Location: Usually the UK

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby SilPho » 04 Feb 2015, 12:19

Points are awarded for the matches you win, not individual games. So if you draw every round you'd end up with as many points as there were rounds.
Aaron9797
Posts: 71
Joined: 23 Jul 2014, 18:33
First Video: ransom

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Aaron9797 » 06 Feb 2015, 08:45

i was thinking about making a really crazy edh deck. what is the interaction between knowledge pool and possibility storm
chetoos
Posts: 390
Joined: 10 Jul 2011, 16:32
First Video: The Job

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby chetoos » 06 Feb 2015, 10:28

Aaron9797 wrote:i was thinking about making a really crazy edh deck. what is the interaction between knowledge pool and possibility storm

Everytime this question is asked, a new crop of level 1 judges cry, and they don't know why.
My Youtube Channel. Currently, I have a daily series where I play games that I like. Right now, it's Double Dragon Advance. I also have a weekly series where I play as the Archenemy from Duels 2012
User avatar
Duckay
Posts: 3706
Joined: 05 Jun 2011, 00:57
First Video: Man Cooking
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: Magic the Gathering: Ask a Judge

Postby Duckay » 06 Feb 2015, 12:48

Aaron9797 wrote:i was thinking about making a really crazy edh deck. what is the interaction between knowledge pool and possibility storm


Korvys gave the best answer a few page ago.

The answer to both of those questions is that all of the other players move to another table and start playing a new game without you. Also, all judges in the room shudder for no apparent reason.


Oh, wait. He also said:

Before that, though, some actual stuff happens.

If the Storm resolves first, you do that part, and then the Pool fails, because it only works "If that player does, ...".

If the pool resolves first, you do that part, then do the Storm anyway, cause the Storm doesn't care if you actually exile the card.

Which resolves first depends on who controls them. If they're both controlled by the same player, that player gets to decide. If they are controlled by different players, the one controlled by the active player, or one closest to the active player's left, triggers first, and resolves last.

Return to “Magic: The Gathering”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests