Need some help with newly built computer

Drop by and talk about anything you want. This is where all cheese-related discussions should go
User avatar
Dave-O_Boy
Posts: 2679
Joined: 19 Apr 2009, 11:54
First Video: Unskipable
Location: Seattle

Need some help with newly built computer

Postby Dave-O_Boy » 12 Jun 2010, 10:02

So I just built a new computer (I'll post some pictures later tonight), but need some help with something.

It has 3 hard drives and doesn't seem to be recognizing two of them. Well it is. It seems that they are connect, but they are not listed under My Computer.

Anyone have any idea as to what could be the issue?

I'm using Windows 7 32bit.
~I'm probably not serious~
Oh and you can just call me Dave.
No need for the whole screen name.
User avatar
Evil Jim
Posts: 7265
Joined: 14 Jul 2007, 00:39
First Video: Shake Your Hands
Location: R'lyeh, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Need some help with newly built computer

Postby Evil Jim » 12 Jun 2010, 10:07

Dude, you should have gotten a Dell.
Image
Arius wrote:People were just so awestruck by your awesomeness that they became catatonic.
ThrashJazzAssassin wrote:BURN HIM! BURN THE HERETIC! DEATH TO ALL WHO SCORN THE AWESOMENESS OF EVIL JIM!
User avatar
Dutch guy
Posts: 5200
Joined: 11 Feb 2008, 17:12
First Video: History of Halo
Location: Southern Dutch Colonies

Re: Need some help with newly built computer

Postby Dutch guy » 12 Jun 2010, 10:14

Did you install the SATA drivers for the MoBo?
THE DUTCH!! THE DUTCH AGAIN!!!!!
Elomin Sha wrote:Dutch guy is the King of the Dutch.
User avatar
Dave-O_Boy
Posts: 2679
Joined: 19 Apr 2009, 11:54
First Video: Unskipable
Location: Seattle

Re: Need some help with newly built computer

Postby Dave-O_Boy » 12 Jun 2010, 10:16

Yes, of course. It's weird, the computer seems to know they are there, but I cannot find a way to access them.
~I'm probably not serious~
Oh and you can just call me Dave.
No need for the whole screen name.
User avatar
Myrph
Posts: 2299
Joined: 28 Jan 2010, 04:25
First Video: Frozen Assets
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Need some help with newly built computer

Postby Myrph » 12 Jun 2010, 10:36

I recommend trying the steps recommended by the user Linda Yan on this site, although I'm not so sure about the registry editting stuff.

Also, when you built the computer did you make sure you set the drives up as master and slaves (or cable select where appropriate)?
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Dave-O_Boy
Posts: 2679
Joined: 19 Apr 2009, 11:54
First Video: Unskipable
Location: Seattle

Re: Need some help with newly built computer

Postby Dave-O_Boy » 12 Jun 2010, 10:38

I'm not sure what you mean, so I'm guess that I did not.

Following that linked seemed to get things working. So big thanks! :D
~I'm probably not serious~
Oh and you can just call me Dave.
No need for the whole screen name.
User avatar
Zhyard
Posts: 318
Joined: 05 May 2007, 10:27
Location: Sweden

Re: Need some help with newly built computer

Postby Zhyard » 12 Jun 2010, 11:03

Oh! I've been had this problem as well since I installed Vista.
User avatar
Keab42
Posts: 6662
Joined: 27 May 2009, 16:38
Location: In England

Re: Need some help with newly built computer

Postby Keab42 » 12 Jun 2010, 11:06

Sata doesn't need Cable Select Myrph.

Dave-O, are these brand new empty hard drives? If so they might not be formatted, which means Windows may not detect them as available storage drives. See if windows can spot them as empty drives awaiting partitioning.

Click on the start menu and type Disk Management in the search thingy at the bottom. It should load the disc manager and show you all the available drives. If they're not formatted they should still show and if you right click you'll have the option to format them.
Keab42: Keeb-forty-two Deal with it. @Keab42 | | +Keab42 | | Tumblr
User avatar
Zhyard
Posts: 318
Joined: 05 May 2007, 10:27
Location: Sweden

Re: Need some help with newly built computer

Postby Zhyard » 12 Jun 2010, 11:15

It seems like Vista doesn't like my HD. It shows like it's corrupted or something (which it's not, can use it without a problem if I boot up in Ubuntu). Reformatting it right now and hopefully it will work fine after that.
Thanks Myrph for indirectly helping me while helping Dave-O. Was starting to run out of storage so it's nice to get a 380 GB boost.
User avatar
Myrph
Posts: 2299
Joined: 28 Jan 2010, 04:25
First Video: Frozen Assets
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Need some help with newly built computer

Postby Myrph » 12 Jun 2010, 12:22

Keab42 wrote:Sata doesn't need Cable Select Myrph.


Ah, its been a while since I've built a computer and the last drives I had were IDE, so I had to do it for that one, didn't realise SATA didn't require it. Apologies for any confusion!

Also, glad that has helped people out. As a general rule, if a computer knows that a drive exists, but doesn't provide access to it in My Computer, its a mapping issue, either because for some reason it hasn't set one up, or because of a mapping conflict (two drives/partitions trying to map to the same location), so fiddling around in there is quite handy.
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
davefp
Posts: 589
Joined: 12 Apr 2008, 11:35
Location: Ottawa, ON
Contact:

Re: Need some help with newly built computer

Postby davefp » 13 Jun 2010, 07:30

Keab42 wrote:Dave-O, are these brand new empty hard drives? If so they might not be formatted, which means Windows may not detect them as available storage drives. See if windows can spot them as empty drives awaiting partitioning.

Click on the start menu and type Disk Management in the search thingy at the bottom. It should load the disc manager and show you all the available drives. If they're not formatted they should still show and if you right click you'll have the option to format them.


This.
Image
Image

Return to “General Discussion”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests